Announcing the 2019 Sternfels Prize Winner

Click here for the official press release.

Amber Beitelshees, PharmD, MPH
Experimental Medicine Approach to Optimize Diabetes Treatments
University of Maryland School of Medicine

The Sternfels Prize was created to reduce the risk associated with the real-world use of pharmaceuticals. The purpose of the prize is to incentivize pharmacologists, pharmacists, medical practitioners, academics, and students to think about ways to reduce the real world risks patients face from polypharmacy, interacting co-morbidities, and genetic variations.

The prize is awarded to the most novel, clinically relevant, and testable idea to reduce life threatening drug-drug, drug-disease, or pharmacogenomic interactions. All submissions must be the applicant’s own work and not already be adequately addressed on an existing drug label or in a scholarly work. The winning submission will receive $35,000 (USD).

The Sternfels Prize is named in honor of Edith and Ernst Sternfels. Ernst was an engineer involved in the design and construction of chemical plants around the world, including many involved in the synthesis of life-improving molecules. Edith was a nurse, dedicated to the welfare and treatment of patients. Together, they represent the breadth of modern medicine, from highly technical science to personal attention and care.

All entries are kept in confidence and remain the property of the applicant and/or their institution. The 2019 competition is underwritten by Emerald Lake Safety.

New This Year

The top 30 entries will receive a FREE iPAD


The winner will receive a $35,000 cash award for having the best idea based on its clinical relevance, testability, and originality
Depending on the applicant's interest, the Prize Committee may be able to arrange funding of clinical studies related to an idea


All submissions are due by January 31, 2019. All entries submitted by December 15, 2018 will receive critical feedback and a chance to resubmit


A panel of renowned judges will determine the winner based on the Prize's stated criteria